Expenses & Transactions: Add, Merge and Submit

Manage your expenses and corporate card transactions, assign them to an expense report and submit them for approval.

Andrew Banta avatar
Written by Andrew Banta
Updated over a week ago

On the Expenses & Transactions page you can add new personal or corporate card expenses. Complete synced corporate card transactions by adding a receipt, select and submit expenses & transactions, or you can assign specific expenses to an expense report for greater control and clarity.

There are a few tasks that you can complete inline on the Expenses & Transactions page without needing to open the expense:

  • Select

  • Add Receipt

  • Choose an Expense Category

  • Merge a synced transaction with an expense (receipt image)

If you prefer to work on your expenses in an expense report, you can check the box to the left of all the expenses you'd like to consolidate to one expense report, and then choose "Assign to Report". If you haven't created your expense report first, start here.

Once you've created your expense report you can assign expenses and transactions to the report either by opening the expense and choosing the report from the "Assign to Report" dropdown menu, or on the "Expenses & Transactions" page, check the boxes and then choose "Assign to Report", choose the report you created from this dropdown menu.

If you've already completed your expenses, you can also select specific expenses to submit, when none are selected clicking "Submit" will submit all open Expenses & Transactions. Choosing Submit will open a dialogue box and and give you an option to title and submit your expense report. Only complete expenses can be submitted.

To add a receipt, click "Add Receipt", then choose your receipt image to add to your expense.

Set the expense category by choosing "Add Category". Active expense categories will appear in the dropdown menu. You may also type in the category to filter the results.

If you would like to merge a corporate card synced transaction with an existing expense (receipt image), check the box next to either the synced transaction or expense, and then choose "Merge" along the bottom right of the screen.

You may also merge a transaction to an expense by checking to box next to both, and then choosing "Merge".

The merge dialogue box will open, and you can then choose "Select" to the right of the transaction with which you'd like to merge the transaction.

If the transaction data and the expense data do not appear to match, you will encounter a notification:

If you choose to "Merge Anyway", the transaction will be merged with the expense (receipt image).

Note: Merging is irreversible, and once the transaction and expense are merged, this action cannot be reverted.

Clicking "Add Description" will open the expense. Some organizations do not require a description, and this filed may be optional.

You can also filter the expenses which are displayed, click the "Filter" button along the top of the screen between the Search window and the "Add" button. The filter sidebar will open from the righthand side of the screen and you may then choose your options.

Once you have made your selection choose "Apply", the results will then be displayed:

The Filter button will be badged with the number of filters applied, and the filters will then be listed along the top of the screen. You can remove individual filters by clicking the "X" located in the filter's description box, or you may click the Filter button along the top to edit your active filters. Clicking the blue "Reset" button will remove all filters, restoring the default view.

To view any user deleted expenses, toggle "Show Deleted Expenses" to "On".

Note: Only 30 days worth of deleted expenses are retained, enabling this filter deactivates all other filter options.


Frequently asked questions


Publish date: February 14, 2023
โ€‹Last update: June 6, 2024

Did this answer your question?